Getting started

Start a 30 days trial

All Clevertim CRM plans come with a 30 days trial. We don’t ask for credit cards and if you decide Clevertim is not for you, you don’t have to do anything to cancel it; the trial just expires, and since we’re not asking for your credit card, you will not be charged. No danger that you forget about it and get charged and you don’t mean to.

The first step in starting using Clevertim therefore it is to pick a plan and start your trial. We offer various plans, starting from Basic to Professional; we also have a Solo plan for single users and a Free plan. Each plan comes with a number of resources included and number of users allowed to login (we do not charge per user).

To see the plans, go to the Clevertim pricing page and, once you decide which plan is appropriate, choose the plan and start your trial.

Create an account

When you start your trial, you will need to create an account with us. We collect the following information about you, as part of the creation of the account process:

  • First name
  • Last name
  • Email address
  • A password of your choosing
  • Your country
  • Timezone (only for countries that span multiple timezones)

The email address you choose will become your login (together with your password) and your primary email address in your system. Notifications and other communications will be send to this email address. You will also be asked to validate the email address by clicking on a link in a validation email that we will send you. This is done so we can confirm that you are the owner of the email address you have used when registering.

When you create the account, you become the owner of the account. The owner is the person who will be handling payment details (i.e. credit cards) if it comes to that. The owner is also an administrator and has privileges that other users do not have (see our section about Users and Groups for more information). The ownership of the account can be transferred to someone else at a later stage if needed.

Quick orientation

When you log into the account, you will see a series of horizontally aligned tabs. Here is a brief description of what these tabs contain in terms of information and functionality:

  • Dashboard
    • graphs, recent contacts, opportunities funnel and more
  • What’s new
    • a log of the activities performed in the account
  • Contacts
    • list view of your contacts
  • Companies
    • list view of your companies
  • Tasks
    • list and calendar view of your active/completed tasks
  • Cases
    • list view of your cases
  • Opportunities
    • list view and pipeline view of your sales opportunities
  • Files
    • files organized in folders, explorer like interface
  • Reports
    • build custom reports, save them, run and export the data to csv/Excel
  • Info Page
    • information page, editable; meant to include commonly used information/resources/etc.

If you don’t need all of the information or functionality provided by some tabs, the Business Preferences/Tabs Configuration section allows you to hide some of these tabs.

In the upper right corner you will see the following button that allows you to control the various configurations and settings in Clevertim

../_images/settings.png

This will be referred to in the following sections as the Settings button.

Brand your account

Clevertim CRM allows you to configure your own logo, which, when defined, it will replace the Clevertim logo displayed on the site in the upper left corner. Changing the logo is a simple but effective way to make the Clevertim website more welcoming for you and your users.

Click on the Settings button in the upper right corner and choose Business Preferences.

At the top of the Business Preferences section, you will see an option to upload a logo, set your company name, slogan and a small description of your company. Once you make the changes, don’t forget to press the Save Changes button at the bottom of the page, to make sure your changes are applied.

Personal information and settings

Clevertim CRM allows you to change your personal information, change your password, upload a photo of yourself, choose email communication preferences and a few other preferences that only apply to you. The same section allows you to generate an API key, which you can use with our available APIs, or with tools like curl. The API keys can also be used with any available external integrations that support Clevertim CRM.

Click on the Settings button in the upper right corner and choose My Info & Settings.

Custom fields

If you need to store data that is not available in Clevertim, this can be achieved by defining your own custom fields. This is done in the Custom fields section.

Email dropbox

The Email dropbox section shows you your dedicated Clevertim email addresses that you can use to CC/BCC on your communication or forward emails to. These emails will automatically be picked up in the system and attached to the relevant contacts or companies (they are created when they don’t exist).

In this section you can customize the email addresses that the system should accept emails from, on your behalf. These would be any additional emails that you might have and that you want to use within Clevertim. Once you add them into Clevertim, make sure you validate them (you will get an email and you need to click on the link within), in order to be able to use them fully within Clevertim.

Applications

In the Applications section, you can enable any third party integrations with other apps that you need.

Invite more users

The Users & Groups section you can invite other people within your organization to join the Clevertim account you have created. When you invite other users, they will receive an email with a link that will take them to a page where they can enter a few details about themselves (i.e. first name, last name, email) and join the account. When you invite a user or any time after that, this section allows you to control permissions like:

  • Administrators
    • Can customize the Clevertim account
    • Can invite other users
    • Can see private contacts and other items
    • Can export data
    • They are not restricted in any way
  • Can Edit permission
    • Users can edit any data
  • Can Delete permission
    • Users can delete any data
  • Can Export permission
    • Can export the data

When additional users join the account, they will be able to see the information available in the account. If you want to restrict the information that various users can see, you can define Groups of users and specify who is in what group. For example, you can create a Marketing Group and a Sales Group and place users in their respective group.

When contacts, companies, cases, opportunities are created, visibility options can be specified. For example, contacts created could be visible only to Sales and not Marketing or the other way around. Some contacts could be made visible to everyone and other contacts could be private to a single user (administrators can see these private contacts but other regular users cannot).